Back to All Events

Comfort Music: Molly Jones solo + Heinemann/Rubin /Sowa

Screen Shot 2019-03-24 at 3.42.20 PM.png

Saxophonist and composer Molly Jones performs a solo set, and Erik Sowa, Scott Rubin, and Jakob Heinemann perform a trio set.

About Molly:

Molly Jones’ compositions range from through-composed chamber works to graphic scores to electroacoustic environments for improvisation, incorporating video, movement, and words.

She has performed with musicians including Saul Williams, Nicole Mitchell, Tyshawn Sorey, Robert Ashley, Jaribu Shahid, Ed Sarath, Kei Akagi, Alex Harding, Paul de Jong, Wadada Leo Smith, Andrew Bishop, Douglas Ewart, Joo Won Park, Elliott Sharp, Cheick Hamala Diabate, Marion Hayden, Matt Kiroff, and many friends in the US and Canada.  She has been commissioned by Verdant Vibes Ensemble, the Detroit Composers’ Project, and Detroit Fringe theater festival; her video installations have been presented at Rooms To Let, FireFish, and Detroit Contemporary; and her poetry can be found in Saul Williams’ Chorus: A Literary Mixtape, Matchbox Magazine, and her zine Moon Jar.

She is working on an opera-ballet to be premiered in March 2019.

About Heinemann/Rubin/Sowa:

Bassist Jakob Heinemann, violist Scott Rubin, and percussionist Erik Sowa collaborate in a new trio which emphasizes playing acoustically.  Because the bass and viola are not amplified, the trio prefers to perform in an acoustically live setting to further amplify the instruments.  This trio's musical directions range from groove based to free meter improvisations while using various sonic textures.  In addition to playing viola, Scott Rubin also intermittently adds low volume, pre-recorded samples of the Trio during the compositions.

Earlier Event: March 27
Marx Reloaded